Deadly Ever After


A couple of days ago, Deadly Ever After did an excerpt from my work-in-progress, The White Room. Now, the same Undead Duo has posted four of my creepier poems in the spirit of Halloween. To read these, follow this link: http://deadlyeverafter.com/2013/10/20/haunting-poetry-from-alistair-cross/

As I read over these poems, I thought it would be kind of fun to very briefly discuss the back stories of each of them ~ in the order they appear at Deadly Ever After ~ as some readers like to know where certain pieces came from.

So… I’ll start at the beginning.

* * *

The Wooden Box

* * *

The wood of the coffin in this poem signifies the susceptibility of rot.  A wooden box would provide only temporary obstruction from the open air and the insects that hurry decomposition along.  The coffin itself, because it is made of wood, represents the vulnerability of the subject within it, which in this case, is a dead woman.  And she is the ego personified.  The red dress she wears signifies passion, lust, fire, appetite; dangerous indulgences.  So, “The Wooden Box” is about the fragility and death (wood coffin) of the ego (the woman) at the hands of its own passions (the red dress). Notice that while the ego may be present, its passions can be removed, much like a “red dress” can be removed.  Clothes are no more an actual part of who we are than our ego’s fleeting desires.

In this poem, every physical quality that the woman possesses is mediocre at best… however, there is a contrasting adulation behind every truthful description, i.e. “she wasn’t really beautiful/BUT she exuded such a grace”.  That’s how the ego works… it is a dishonest thing.

* * *

My Lover’s Face

* * *

            My Lover’s Face is about how we “freeze” someone into the past.  This poem is saying “Let it go… people learn and grow as they go along… let them”.  It is about how we, if only in our own minds, hold a person to the things they did five or ten or twenty years ago.  An individual is not the same person they were that many years ago.

* * *

Dark Hotel

* * *

So, the “Dark Hotel” story is a recurring dream I have had for as long as I can remember.  I don’t know what the dreams means, but I would love to have it interpreted.  The feeling I always wake up with after the dream is one of hopelessness and resignation, so I assume it is representative of some sort of loss, but I am not an expert. I have written several poems about dreams I have had, and of my “dream poems”, Dark Hotel is probably my favorite. It is all true, and I tried to get every image from the dream into this poem.

* * *

I, Madman

* * *

            This is a very old poem. On one hand, I wrote this in honor of a dear friend of mine who died abruptly in 1994 at the very tender age of seventeen.  On the other hand, I wrote it in regard to the guilt of never having said goodbye.  I was living in New Mexico at the time of the death and was unable to fly back home for the funeral.  I really believe that I went a little crazy during that time, and that is where the final facet of this poem comes into play: the “Madman” part of it all. Also, there is an old horror movie titled, “I, Madman,” and although I hadn’t seen the movie when I wrote this, I loved the title and wanted to use it. Fuse these things together and the result is this poem.  It’s messy, confusing and opaque… but then, so was I at the time I wrote it.

* * *

Thanks all, and have a great Halloween. It’s a-comin’…

Mr. Cross

2 responses to “Deadly Ever After

  1. I just finished reading all of your haunting poems, they are indeed haunting! You simply amaze me with your talent,

What SLAY you?

