Speaks the Nightbird by Robert McCammon

Speaks the Nightbird, Robert McCammon, 2009

My favorite quote: “Tell me. What is the point of life, if truth is not worth standing up for? If justice is a hollow shell? If beauty and grace are burnt to ashes, and evil rejoices in the flames?”

Most interesting characters: Matthew Corbett, young clerk to the traveling magistrate; Rachel Howarth, a beautiful young widow who’s been tried and convicted of witchcraft

Opening scene: Matthew and the magistrate making their perilous way toward shelter

The gist: A witchcraft trial opens up a whole mess of deceit, drama, and deviltry in the small town of Fount Royal but Matthew Corbett believes the accused woman is innocent. It’s actually a lot more interesting than that, but cut me some slack — it’s a big book with a lot to sum up

Greatest strengths: I’m not going to lie: this is a big book. And by big, I mean HUGE. Seriously. If it worked in the adult entertainment industry, it would make John Holmes self-conscious. But it’s so good, you’ll wish it were longer.  

Standout achievements: This book takes place in 1699 in the Carolinas — and hoo boy, does McCammon know how to transport his readers there! 

Fun Facts: After a ten-year absence from the literary world, Robert McCammon returned with this book, Speaks the Nightbird — and it’s an absolute masterpiece 

Other media: N/A

Additional thoughts: Equal parts horror, history, and mystery, Robert McCammon’s Speaks the Nightbird kicks off a series that takes readers on an epic journey through history that will make you hope this series never ends

Hit or Miss: Hit. For sure 

Haunt me: alistaircross.com

Published by Alistair Cross

Alistair Cross grew up on horror novels and scary movies, and by the age of eight, began writing his own stories. First published in 2012, he has since co-authored The Cliffhouse Haunting and Mother with Tamara Thorne and is working on several other projects. His debut solo novel, The Crimson Corset, was an Amazon bestseller. The Black Wasp, book 3 in The Vampires of Crimson Cove series is on its way. Find out more about him at: http://alistaircross.com ********************************************************************************************* In collaboration, Thorne and Cross are currently writing several novels, including the next volume in the continuing gothic series, The Ravencrest Saga. Their first novel, The Cliffhouse Haunting, was an immediate bestseller. Together, they hosted the horror-themed radio show Thorne & Cross: Haunted Nights LIVE! which featured such guests as Anne Rice of The Vampire Chronicles, Charlaine Harris of the Southern Vampire Mysteries and basis of the HBO series True Blood, Jeff Lindsay, author of the Dexter novels, Jay Bonansinga of The Walking Dead series, Laurell K. Hamilton of the Anita Blake novels, Peter Atkins, screenwriter of Hellraiser 2, 3, and 4, worldwide bestseller V.C. Andrews, Kim Harrison of the Hollows series, and New York Times best sellers Preston & Child, Christopher Rice, and Christopher Moore. ********************************************************************************************** Currently, Thorne & Cross are hosts of Thorne & Cross: Carnival Macabre, where listeners can discover all manner of demented delights, unearth terrifying treasures, and explore the dark side of the arts.

What SLAY you?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: