MOTHER: Available Tomorrow


Tomorrow’s the big day. MOTHER will be available to buy! Links to follow.
MOTHER
“Mother is a thriller in the truest sense of the word. What begins with a walk through a nice neighborhood in a nice town quickly becomes a chilling and unnerving descent into madness that is harder and harder to escape. Because I wear a fitness tracker I have scientific proof that the finale is a wild ride. Although I was curled up on the couch reading, Mother caused my heart rate to go up ten points! I’ll never look at a neighborhood block party the same way.”
-Q.L. Pearce, bestselling author of Scary Stories for Sleep-Overs
“Mother is about as disturbing as one can get. Thorne and Cross are seriously twisted individuals that know how to horrify and entertain at the same time.
-Fang-Freakin-Tastic Reviews
“A delightfully sinister walk up the shadowed staircase to the room Mother arranged especially for you. So, what’s in the cupboard? What’s she hiding in the basement? Inside the garage? Under the floorboards? With Mother, Thorne and Cross reanimate the “familiar,” leading you down a path of familial treachery that gets midnight-dark all too quickly.”
– Michael Aronovitz – author of Phantom Effect

Guest Post: Mother by Tamara Thorne and Alistair Cross


Until MOTHER arrives, here’s a preview tour of the neighborhood …

We Read That Too

Good afternoon, ladies and gentlemen, and welcome to our tour. Today we’re exploring the neighborhood in which our new thriller, Mother, takes place. Think about the street you grew up on. Much like every other neighborhood, it was probably complete with the mean old man who yelled at kids who dared step on his lawn, the neighbor who walked his dog and didn’t pick up the droppings, the nosy neighbor, the noisy neighbor, the neighbor who had the worst-looking lawn, and the one who had the best, the drama queen, the street organizer . . . and on and on. Now imagine what that same neighborhood would look like if you were able to get inside the houses and minds of your neighbors.

Today, we’re going to take a closer look at this seemingly innocuous neighborhood and peel back some of its layers. As you’ll see, Morning Glory Circle, built…

View original post 2,335 more words

At Last


The 4th (or is it the 5th?) and FINAL read-through of MOTHER is finished. All that’s left is a quick detail check. MOTHER will go to publication next week and Tamara and I will return to The Witches of Ravencrest, our solos, and begin research and development on the Candle Bay sequel.

I will never read MOTHER again. I never read my work after it goes to publication because, by then, I’m sick of the sight of it. Usually, I’m pleased to never lay eyes on it again, but this time, I admit to a certain sadness. I will miss MOTHER … and all the folks of Morning Glory Circle.

This book, I believe, is the best work Tamara and I have done … so far. I am pleased. And that’s rare.

MOTHER

Suspending the Pen


I’ve been in the writing dungeon so long that the sunlight streaming from the windows has begun to burn my eyes and an evening trip to Wal-Mart – or some other dreadful place – is starting to feel like an outing, a night on the town, rather than the necessary evil it actually is.

With reviewers waiting for proof copies, editors expecting the next round, and readers anticipating the finished product, the work has been non-stop. For weeks, Tamara and I have stumbled from our beds, gone straight to our computers, and pecked the keys without pause until sunset. We’ve even been doing some moonlighting, too. Tonight, after hours, Tamara kept at it, finalizing the details of the uncorrected proof copies. After eating – and taking a much-needed shower – I got back to it as well, sorting out upcoming interviews, guest posts, and various writing-related events – all the little things that need to happen when a book is edging release.

But we’re in the final stages of edits: the touch-ups. This is when we tighten the narrative, cut the fat, and sprinkle a little glitter over the prose. Tomorrow our dark psychological thriller, Mother, will be ready for reviewers. Then, after another round of revisions and a final read-through, it will go to publication.

Mother has been one of the most intense and multi-layered stories we’ve ever told … but I also believe it’s our best. The hard work is really paying off, and I’m proud of the balancing act we’ve managed to maintain. Though first conceived in 2013, we weren’t able to begin Mother in earnest until last year, and considering the many projects we’ve undertaken throughout the writing of this book, I’d say we’ve done our jobs with balletic grace – and in record time, too.

But the energy depletion is extraordinary. We’re both ready to drop, and I’m getting that snippy-little-Chihuahua tone in my voice that says I’m overdue for a breather.

So, I’m taking a mini-vacation this weekend – I’m suspending the pen.

Thursday night after the radio show, I’m getting in the car and going … somewhere else.

Maybe Wyoming – I’m not sure yet.

Somewhere quiet.

Yeah, probably Wyoming.

I’ll rent a hotel room and just be for a few days. I’ll take long, hot baths, eat things I’ll regret, and do plenty of joy-reading. Then Sunday – or maybe Monday – I’ll come home.

Tuesday, I’ll dig back in with both hands, and make sure that Mother is as polished as a diamond, ready to be introduced to the world in April – as planned.

 

Nasty Neighbors


Have a neighbor you just can’t stand?

In honor of the upcoming release of our thriller, Mother, which takes place in a gossip-laden cul-de-sac called Morning Glory Circle, we want to hear your Nasty Neighbor stories! Whether it’s someone who listens to polka music too loud, or someone you’re sure has corpses piling up in their crawlspace, if your neighbors are behaving badly, your Nasty Neighbor story needs to be told! And, for an extra helping of gabby good times, we’ll read your story on our radio show, Thorne & Cross: Haunted Nights LIVE!

By emailing us your story, you guarantee all names and locations are anonymous and agree to possible publication. The top three winners will win an ebook copy of MOTHER upon its release it April. Stories must be under 200 words. Email your Nasty Neighbor story to hauntednightslive@gmail.com

2c101e34-f073-4c2e-a391-209e4c373f02

In The Land of Moms and Monsters


We wrote an article over at Risingshadow about what inspired our upcoming thriller, Mother, titled In the Land of Moms and Monsters.

Mother is a psychological thriller in the vein of Psycho and Misery, with a pinch of Peyton Place and a dash of Gaslight. Expectant couple Claire and Jason Holbrook have fallen on hard times, forcing them to move in with Claire’s estranged mother. Claire vowed to have no contact with the overbearing woman ever again, but Mother is thrilled at the prospect of a grandchild.

At Mother’s, Claire and Jason begin experiencing things that make them determined to leave immediately … but when a cruel twist of fate makes that impossible, Claire becomes obsessed with her mother’s motives. Fantasy and fact blur together as her compulsion consumes her, and Jason wonders who the villain really is.

When a cache of macabre family secrets is uncovered, Claire and Jason find the answers they’re looking for – answers that will change them forever … assuming anyone can get out of Mother’s house alive.

Mother will be available in ebook and paperback in April.

MOTHER

FACEBOOK EVENT Today at 7 – 8 pm EST


Today, at 7 – 8 pm EST, Tamara Thorne​ and I will be chatting about our upcoming book, MOTHER, on Facebook at The Edge of Madness Release Party.
Just go to this page, join the event, and come hang out with us from 7 – 8 pm EST, where we’ll be discussing writing, MOTHER, books, and anything you’d like to know!

MOTHER